LEED Rating Systems

LEED, or Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, is a green building certification program that recognizes best-in-class building strategies and practices. To receive LEED certification, building projects satisfy prerequisites and earn points to achieve different levels of certification. Prerequisites and credits differ for each rating system, and teams choose the best fit for their project.

LEED is constructed in 5 separate rating systems:

  • BD+C (Building and Construction) this includes new construction, major renovations, core and shell development, schools, retail, data centers, warehouses, healthcare. Applies to buildings that are being newly constructed or going through a major renovation; includes New Construction, Core & Shell, Schools, Retail, Hospitality, Data Centers, Warehouses & Distribution Centers, and Healthcare.
  • ID+C (Interior Design and Construction) this includes commercial interiors, retail, hospitality. Applies to projects that are a complete interior fit-out; includes Commercial Interiors, Retail and Hospitality
  • O+M (Building Operations and Maintenance) Applies to existing buildings that are undergoing improvement work or little to no construction; includes Existing Buildings, Schools, Retail, Hospitality, Data Centers, and Warehouses & Distribution Centers.ND (Neighborhood Development) Applies to new land development projects or redevelopment projects containing residential uses, nonresidential uses, or a mix.
  • Homes (Homes) Applies to single family homes, low-rise multi-family (one to three stories), or mid-rise multi-family (four to six stories); includes Homes and Multifamily Lowrise and Multifamily Midrise.

There are four levels of LEED Certification

Certified (0-49 Points)

Silver (50-59 Points)

Gold (60-79 Points)

Platinum (80+ Points)